To configure the default position of the Virtru toggle that their users will see when they compose new Gmail messages, you should start by accessing your Virtru dashboard at www.virtru.com/dashboard.

From the dashboard, click on the ‘Settings’ tab on the left of the screen. You will now see an ‘Email Encryption Default’ section from which you can adjust your default Virtru toggle position. If you’re unable to view this section from your dashboard, it means that the organization administrator for your Virtru domain has configured a default setting for your organization and has not granted individual users the ability to update their personal settings.

By clicking ‘On’ in the ‘Email Encryption Default’ section, Virtru will be toggled on by default when you go to compose new emails from your Virtru-supported email client. To toggle Virtru ‘Off’ by default, click the ‘Off’ button. If you’d like Virtru to ‘remember’ the setting used for the last Gmail message composed, click ‘My Last Setting.’

Default Toggle Settings 1

For example, if you select ‘My Last Setting’ and then send an email with Virtru toggled on, Virtru will be toggled on by default the next time you compose a new email. If you send that second email with Virtru toggled off, Virtru will be toggled off by default when you go to compose your third new email.

It’s important to note that the settings that you set will currently only be applied when composing new messages from Virtru’s Chrome or Firefox extensions for Gmail.

Additionally, when you forward or reply to emails that you receive, the Virtru toggle will default to the encryption options that were initially applied by the sender. So if someone sends you a Virtru-encrypted email, your reply to that message will have Virtru toggled on by default. If the original message is sent unencrypted, your reply will turn Virtru’s toggle off by default.

Regardless of the default position, users will always have the option to toggle Virtru on or off for a given message.

Please find a video overview of these instructions below:

Virtru administrators can configure the default position of the Virtru toggle that their users will see when they compose new Gmail messages.

To adjust this feature, Virtru administrators should first access the Virtru dashboard at www.virtru.com/dashboard. It’s important to ensure that ‘Organization Admin Mode’ has been toggled on in the upper left corner of the dashboard.

From the dashboard, click on the ‘Org Settings’ tab on the left of the screen. You will now see options for your organization’s email encryption default settings.

By clicking ‘On,’ Virtru will be toggled on by default when you go to compose new emails from your Virtru-supported Gmail client. To toggle Virtru ‘Off’ by default, click the ‘Off’ button. If you’d like Virtru to ‘remember’ the setting used for the last Gmail message composed, click ‘My Last Setting.’

Default Toggle Setting 2

For example, if you select ‘My Last Setting’ and then send an email with Virtru toggled on, Virtru will be toggled on by default the next time you compose a new email. If you send that second email with Virtru toggled off, Virtru will be toggled off by default when you go to compose your third new email.

After you’ve chosen your setting, you must choose whether or not your users are able to set their own default, or if you’d like to maintain a global setting for your domain. Check the ‘Allow users to override default’ box if you want your users to set their own default settings, or leave the box unchecked to apply a global setting for the entire organization.

If you leave the box checked, your end-users will be able to adjust their individual default settings by accessing the ‘Settings’ tab from their individual Virtru dashboards.

It’s important to note that the settings that you and your users set will currently only be applied when composing new messages from Virtru’s Chrome or Firefox extensions for Gmail.

Additionally, when your users forward or reply to emails that they receive, the Virtru toggle will default to the encryption options that were initially applied by the sender. So if someone sends you a Virtru-encrypted email, your reply to that message will have Virtru toggled on by default. If the original message is sent unencrypted, your reply will turn Virtru’s toggle off by default.

Regardless of the default position, users will always have the option to toggle Virtru on or off for a given message.

Please find a video overview of these instructions below:

When you forward or reply to emails that you receive, the Virtru toggle will default to the encryption options that were initially applied by the sender.  So if someone sends you a Virtru-encrypted email, your reply to that message will have Virtru toggled on by default.  If the original message is sent unencrypted, your reply will position Virtru’s toggle off by default.  

These settings apply no matter which Virtru platform from which you’re responding.  You will also experience the same settings when composing new Virtru messages from Outlook.

When composing new Virtru emails from Gmail, the Virtru toggle will be positioned off by default – unless you are part of a Virtru organization whose administrator has adjusted the default toggle position either to be off or to ‘remember’ the setting used for the last Gmail message you composed.

Regardless of the default position, users will always have the option to toggle Virtru on or off for a given message.