When using Virtru Pro, you can fully control all aspects of any secure email sent using the system — both before and after you send it. This ranges from message encryption, to revoking a secure message you already sent with Virtru.
Virtru allows you to revoke and reauthorize secure emails any time you wish. You can even granularly revoke access to someone your email has been forwarded onto (if you didn’t disable forwarding on your original secure email). See how below in one of our videos, or in our step-by-step instructions.
See Virtru’s Revoke feature in action for Gmail:
See Virtru’s Revoke feature in action for OWA for Office 365:
Revoking Access from Your Sent Mail Box
1. To revoke an email, begin by opening the Virtru-secured message in your sent mail box. (*Please note that if the email was not secured with then none of Virtru’s features, including revoke, will not be available.)
Example In Gmail:
2. Click the red hand icon located at the top right of your toolbar. A red outline will now surround the body of the email, indicating that you have revoked access to all recipients.
Example in Gmail:
Example in Outlook:
Once revoked, this is what your recipient will see. The email still displays in the inbox, but the content of the email has been revoked:
3. And it is just as easy to reauthorize access. Simply click the blue eye icon which replaced the revoke button.
Revoking Access from Your Virtru Dashboard
In addition, if you visit your Virtru Dashboard, you even have the option to selectively revoke access to individual recipients of your email.
1. Simply select the email you wish to revoke.
2. Click the revoke button next to the recipient’s email address in the forwarding tree.
And again, access to your Virtru-secured emails can be revoked (or reauthorized) at any time – even after emails and files have been shared or opened. That’s it, you’re all set!
No, Virtru can only revoke emails that were sent secure with Virtru.
One of Virtru’s features allows the sender to disable forwarding to recipients other than the ones authorized by him/her. Often, a sender might need to send sensitive or personal information, such as his/her social security number or credit card details, and wish to restrict it from other recipients. The “Disable Forwarding” option allows the sender to do this preemptively. If you received a forwarded message which you are unauthorized to view, you will need to contact the sender directly, and he/she can then choose to add you as an authorized recipient.
Watch this video for more detailed instructions:
The following steps demonstrate how to disable forwarding and who is authorized to read the original message:
- When the sender composes a message, he/she can choose to disable forwarding to unintended recipients by selecting “Virtru Options” (the downward-facing arrow icon) on the right-hand side of the Virtru protection bar.
- After clicking “Virtru Options”, the sender must then select “Disable Forwarding”.
Once the option is selected, it will appear in color along with a check mark in the accompanying bubble.
- When the intended recipient receives the message, he/she will be able to view it as any other email secured by Virtru.
- If the recipient attempts to forward the message, it will appear to send as any other forwarded email.
- However, when the secondary recipient receives the forwarded message, he/she will only receive the message from the last sender.
If he/she attempts to view the forwarded portion by clicking “Show last secure message,” a block will appear which states, “This email address is not authorized to view this email.”
- Only the original sender can authorize a new recipient by personally adding recipients to the email chain.
- When the newly authorized recipient is added to the email chain, he/she can now select “Show last secure message,” and view the email.
How to Add or Change Disable Forwarding Settings From Your Virtru Dashboard
See when and where people share your content, and prevent forwarding at any time, from your Virtru Dashboard. Here’s how:
1. Start by going to your Virtru Dashboard.
2. From the All Emails tab, select the secure email you’d like to update or add protection settings to.
3. Once selected, a side bar will expand on the right, displaying the current protection settings. Add/disable/update the settings as you see fit. When you’re done, be sure to “Save Changes” for these updates to take effect.
And that’s it! You’re all set.