“Contact Your IT Administrator – Your corporate firewall is blocking access to your message. Please contact your IT administrator for help.”

While this error may be triggered by a firewall, it can also be caused by your settings in Internet Explorer. Here are the settings that we recommend:

>> Internet Options > Privacy > Advanced: Accept cookies from both first- and third-party sites.
>> Internet Options > Security > Set to “Medium-High” or lower.
>> Compatibility View settings > Ensure Virtru is not on this list, and the box next to “Use Microsoft compatibility lists” is unchecked.
>> Internet Options > Security > Trusted Sites > Sites > Add https://*.virtru.com
If those don’t work, it may indeed be the firewall. You IT administrator will need to whitelist the domains listed on this data sheet.

For most recipients, issues opening your secure emails can be resolved by making a few small changes to their browser settings. For recipients in Chrome, Firefox, or Safari, they’ll just need to make sure they’re not using Private browsing and that cookies are enabled. Here’s how to enable cookies in each of those browsers:

Chrome: https://support.google.com/accounts/answer/61416?hl=en
Firefox: https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/enable-and-disable-cookies-website-preferences
Safari: https://support.apple.com/kb/PH21411?locale=en_US

For users in Internet Explorer, there are a few more settings that can get in the way. Here are the settings that we recommend:

>> Internet Options > Privacy > Advanced: Accept cookies from both first- and third-party sites.
>> Internet Options > Security > Set to “Medium-High” or lower.
>> Compatibility View settings > Ensure Virtru is not on this list, and the box next to “Use Microsoft compatibility lists” is unchecked.
>> Internet Options > Security > Trusted Sites > Sites > Add https://*.virtru.com

For most recipients, issues opening your secure emails can be resolved by making a few small changes to their browser settings. For recipients in Chrome, Firefox, or Safari, they’ll just need to make sure they’re not using Private browsing and that cookies are enabled. Here’s how to enable cookies in each of those browsers:

Chrome: https://support.google.com/accounts/answer/61416?hl=en
Firefox: https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/enable-and-disable-cookies-website-preferences
Safari: https://support.apple.com/kb/PH21411?locale=en_US

For users in Internet Explorer, there are a few more settings that can get in the way. Here are the settings that we recommend:

>> Internet Options > Privacy > Advanced: Accept cookies from both first- and third-party sites.
>> Internet Options > Security > Set to “Medium-High” or lower.
>> Compatibility View settings > Ensure Virtru is not on this list, and the box next to “Use Microsoft compatibility lists” is unchecked.
>> Internet Options > Security > Trusted Sites > Sites > Add https://*.virtru.com

When logging into the Secure Reader, you’re given the option to select “Remember Me”, which should allow you to return to the Secure Reader later on without having to verify. That being said, there are several scenarios that can cause this “Remember Me” information to be removed:

– If you select “Log Out” from the menu in the top right corner of the Secure Reader, you’ll need to verify again the next time they visit (just as you need to re-enter your password if you manually log out of Gmail or Facebook, for example).

– If you leave your secure message open and idle in your browser for 18 minutes or longer, we’ll automatically log you out to protect your sender’s secure content – in case you’ve left the message open on a screen that’s visible to passersby.

– Finally, if your browser is configured to remove cookies at the end of each session, or at some other regular interval, the “Remember” information will be deleted. We use cookies to store this information, so if the cookies are removed, you’ll need to verify again. Here’s where you can find those settings in your browser:

Internet Explorer: Internet Options > General > Browsing History > Uncheck “Delete browsing history on exit”.

Chrome: Settings > Advanced Settings > Privacy > Content Settings > Cookies > Allow local data to be set.

Firefox: Preferences > Privacy > History > Accept cookies from sites > Keep until: they expire.

In summary: to avoid repeated verifications, just make sure to close the browser window containing your secure content when you’re done reading.

If you come across this, please follow instructions below:

Screen Shot 2015-10-21 at 5.22.25 PM

Next steps:

  1. Enable Cookies in your browser.
  2. Close any Virtru-related windows you may have open in your browser.
  3. Clear your cache
  4. Return to your inbox and find the original encrypted message containing “Unlock Message”
  5. Right-click “Unlock Message” and copy the URL
  6. Paste that URL into a new browser window
  7. Request a new Verification email
  8. When the Verification email arrives, right-click “Verify” and copy that URL
  9. Paste that URL into the SAME window as the first link

If you continue to have issues, please contact our support team at support@virtru.com.