Resources

Product Support & FAQ

How does the Expiration feature work?

When using Virtru Pro, you can fully control all aspects of any secure email — both before and after you send it. This ranges from message encryption, to setting expiration dates for secure messages you’re sending (or have already sent) with Virtru.

The expiration date feature can be accessed via the Virtru protection bar when you’re composing your secure email. Once set, it will revoke access for all recipients to your email once the selected time has elapsed. Expiration can be updated or disabled at any time.

1. Start by clicking “Compose” to start writing your new email message, then make sure Virtru Protection is togged to “ON”.

View in Gmail

Virtru ON Gmail

View in Outlook

Virtru ON Outlook

2. Select the Expiration feature, and enter your desired time-frame.

View in Gmail

Virtru Expiration in Gmail

View in Outlook

Virtru Expiration Outlook

3. Finish composing your message, and when you’re ready click “Send Secure”.

Updating Your Expiration Settings From Your Sent Mail Box

Expiration (or any other protection features) can be updated or disabled at any time. You can do this simply by finding the secure email in your Sent Mail Box, opening the sent secure email and updating the time frame in your Virtru Protection Bar.

View in Gmail

Expiration in Gmail

View in Outlook

Expiration in Outlook

Updating Your Expiration Settings From Your Virtru Dashboard

You can update or disable protection settings on any Virtru-secured email, anytime, via your Virtru Dashboard.

1. Go to your Virtru Dashboard.

2. Select the secure email you wish to update.

Virtru Dashboard View

3. Update your Expiration Settings (or any other necessary protection settings in the right side bar displayed).

Virtru Dashboard Security Settings

4. Click “Save Changes” at the bottom of the side bar for these changes to take effect.

Change Virtru Features from Dashboard