I am an individual Virtru user or a member of a Virtru team. How do I adjust the the default position of the Virtru toggle that I will see when I compose a new email?
To configure the default position of the Virtru toggle that their users will see when they compose new Gmail messages, you should start by accessing your Virtru dashboard at www.virtru.com/dashboard.
From the dashboard, click on the ‘Settings’ tab on the left of the screen. You will now see an ‘Email Encryption Default’ section from which you can adjust your default Virtru toggle position. If you’re unable to view this section from your dashboard, it means that the organization administrator for your Virtru domain has configured a default setting for your organization and has not granted individual users the ability to update their personal settings.
By clicking ‘On’ in the ‘Email Encryption Default’ section, Virtru will be toggled on by default when you go to compose new emails from your Virtru-supported email client. To toggle Virtru ‘Off’ by default, click the ‘Off’ button. If you’d like Virtru to ‘remember’ the setting used for the last Gmail message composed, click ‘My Last Setting.’
For example, if you select ‘My Last Setting’ and then send an email with Virtru toggled on, Virtru will be toggled on by default the next time you compose a new email. If you send that second email with Virtru toggled off, Virtru will be toggled off by default when you go to compose your third new email.
It’s important to note that the settings that you set will currently only be applied when composing new messages from Virtru’s Chrome extension for Gmail.
Additionally, when you forward or reply to emails that you receive, the Virtru toggle will default to the encryption options that were initially applied by the sender. So if someone sends you a Virtru-encrypted email, your reply to that message will have Virtru toggled on by default. If the original message is sent unencrypted, your reply will turn Virtru’s toggle off by default.
Regardless of the default position, users will always have the option to toggle Virtru on or off for a given message.
Please find a video overview of these instructions below: